People on the move this week

Air New Zealand is set to have a new Chair. Photo: Supplied.

Steve Maharey was appointed to chair Pharmac, Kim Campbell announced he was resigning as EMA CEO without a replacement, Therese Walsh is replacing Tony Carter as Air New Zealand chair next year, Co-op Money confirmed interim CEO Jonathan Lee as its permanent CEO and appointed Richard Westlake as a director, and LINZ announced a Land and Water Forum-type group to advise on High Country tenure review.

Health Minister David Clark announced that former Vice-Chancellor of Massey University and Labour Cabinet minister Steve Maharey had been appointed as chair of Pharmac this week to take over from Stuart McLauchlan , whose term as chair expired.

Employers and Manufacturers Association (Northern) Chief Executive Kim Campbell announced he would resign at EMA's general meeting on November 22 after seven years in the role. He said he would remain in the role temporarily if a suitable replacement was not found by then.

Air New Zealand announced Chairman Tony Carter would retire in September 2019 after six years in the role and be replaced by current director Therese Walsh. Therese Walsh is currently chair of TVNZ, a director of ASB and Contact Energy and a previous director of the NZX. Her appointment as chair of Air New Zealand will coincide with the conclusion of her tenure as chair of TVNZ.

Land Information New Zealand announced the membership of its new South Island High Country Advisory Group. LINZ said the Group would advise the Commissioner of Crown Lands and LINZ on the management of Crown land in the South Island High Country. The Group is expected to meet four times a year and members are appointed for two years. The first meeting is in September.

The members included high country lease holder Colin Drummond, Otago sheep and beef farmer Edward Ellison , Federated Mountain Clubs Vice President Jan Finlayson, QE II National Trust Chair James Guild, Ministry for the Environment Biodiversity Collaborative Group member Mike Harding, Walking Access Commission consultant ecologist Geoff Holgate, rural landscape planner Di Lucas, Forest and Bird's advocacy manager Jen Miller, high country farmer Jonathan Wallis and Environmental Defence Society litigator Madeleine Wright.

Co-op Money NZ announced the appointment of interim CEO Jonathan Lee as the new CEO. He had been standing in since April, when Henry Lynch resigned after almost eight years in the role.

Co-op Money NZ also announced the appointment of former Kiwibank director and Oxford-educated British merchant banker Richard Westlake as independent Director to Co-op Money NZ and Co-op Services NZ for three years. Westlake was the CEO of Trust Bank Canterbury in the late 1990s and has worked as an adviser to Co-op Money for the lst year.

Ballance Agri-Nutrients announced two farmer-elected directors Gray Baldwin and Donna Smit would not seek re-election when their terms expired later this year for the North Island ward. A third retiring director, Murray Taggart, would seek re-election in the South Island Ward.

Overseas, Telstra announced the resignations of chief financial officer Warwick Bray, technology lead Stephen Elop, wholesale chief Will Irving and media unit chief Joe Pollard in a leadership restructure that bought in two new hires, including former SBS CEO Michael Ebeid and former Jio executive Nikos Katinakis.