5. People on the move this week

KiwiRail CEO Peter Reidy is moving to head Fletcher Building's troubled construction division and Trevor Janes is stepping down as KiwiRail chair. MBIE's James Stevenson-Wallace is replacing Carl Hansen as the Electricity Authority's CEO. Hamilton's former mayor Julie Hardaker will become the new chair of the Environmental Protection Authority to replace Kerry Prendergast and Simon Botherway is joining the board of the Guardians of the New Zealand Superannuation Fund. Transparency International appointed Julie Haggie to a newly created CEO role.

From public to private

KiwiRail CEO Peter Reidy is moving to become the CEO of Fletcher Building's construction division, which includes the problematic Buildings and Interiors unit. There's also a shake-up on the KiwiRail board, with SOE Minister Winston Peters and Finance Minister Grant Robertson announcing that Trevor Janes was stepping down as chair and would be replaced in the interim by new deputy chair Brian Corban.

Fletcher is moving its current construction head Michele Kernahan to lead its building products unit as part of the move, with Reidy joining in early November. Fletcher's acting head of building products, David Thomas, will shift back to general manager of Winston Wallboards.

Justice Minister Andrew Little announced the creation of a panel to recommend the appointment of a new Chief Human Rights Commissioner, Race Relations Commissioner and Equal Employment Opportunities Commissioner. The panel members are Chair Pauline Winter , the former Chief Executive of the Ministry for Pacific Peoples, Heritage Council Chair John Clarke , and former DOC CEO Al Morrison.

New EA and EPA leaders

The Electricity Authority appointed one of the government’s senior energy policy advisors as its new chief executive. James Stevenson-Wallace is general manager of energy and resource markets at the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE). He is expected to take up his new role in September. The Authority's previous CEO Carl Hansen had been its founding CEO in 2009. He announced in February he would leave at the end of June. General Manager Androula Dometakis has been acting GM since then and will remain in the role until Stevenson-Wallace.

In another big move for a regulator, Associate Environment Minister Eugenie Sage announced former Hamilton Mayor Julie Hardaker would become the new chair of the Environmental Protection Authority to replace Kerry Prendergast , the former Mayor of Wellington who was appointed chair when the EPA was formed under the previous Government in 2011. Prendergast ran as a National Party list candidate in 1999.

Sage also named Steven Wilson as the deputy chair of the EPA, replacing Kevin Thompson who has held the role since 2012. Wilson is currently deputy chair of Nga Kaihautū Tikanga Taiao, the authority’s Maori statutory advisory committee. Sage also appointed to the EPA board emissions consultant Gerda Kuschel and Jeroen Douwes, director of Massey University’s Centre for Public Health Research. They replace Kura Denness and Geoff Thompson and will also serve three-year terms from August. The remaining EPA board members are Dayle Hunia, Tim Lusk, Gillian Wratt and Nicki Crauford.

New Guardians

Finance Minister Grant Robertson announced Catherine Drayton, Simon Botherway and Henk Berkman had been appointed to the Board of the Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation. Botherway was once a fund manager and is now the chair of Serko and a director of Callaghan Innovation. Berkman has been Professor of Finance, Department of Accounting and Finance at the University of Auckland since 2008.

Transparency International New Zealand appointed Julie Haggie to become its CEO from September 10. Haggie led the Home and Community Health Association for the last eight years.