Youth triumphs over experience in final Green list

The Green Party's top 20 candidates pose for a photo at their Bowen House offices. Photo: Sam Sachdeva.

The Green Party has revealed its final list rankings for this year’s election, with an emphasis on fresh talent and diversity putting some sitting MPs at risk.

Announcing the list at Parliament, Greens co-leader James Shaw said it had a mix of “experienced hands and also fresh new talent”, with strong female, Maori and Pasifika representation.

“This list looks a lot like modern New Zealand,” Shaw said.

The final list, decided after party members voted on a draft version prepared by candidates and delegates in April, has boosted the chances of young female candidates while threatening the places of some current MPs.

Here’s who's up and who's down.


Chloe Swarbrick: the former Auckland mayoral candidate has risen four places, from 13 to nine, and is set to become our youngest MP in 42 years.

Golriz Ghahraman: the human rights lawyer would be New Zealand’s first MP to have arrived here as a refugee. She has been elevated from 15th spot to 10th.

Hayley Holt: the media personality and former pro snowboarder has made one of the largest leaps ever for a Green Party candidate, rising twelve places from an essentially unwinnable spot of 29th to 17th (giving her a seat in Parliament if the party won roughly 15 per cent of the vote).


Barry Coates: Coates only entered Parliament in 2016 following Kevin Hague’s resignation, but he has dropped two places on the final list to sit in 12th place.

Mojo Mathers: New Zealand’s first deaf MP has fallen from eighth to 11th on the final list - still a winnable spot based on the party’s polling.

Denise Roche and David Clendon: the two long-serving Green MPs have not suffered too much from the final list changes, but at 15th and 16th respectively may struggle to hold their seats based on the party’s previous election performances.

The party had already cleared the way for some fresh faces after Steffan Browning and Catherine Delahunty both announced they would step down at the election.

However, Greens co-leader Metiria Turei believed the party would be able to retain the bulk of its current parliamentary caucus while also bringing in new MPs.

The top 20

  1. Metiria Turei

  2. James Shaw

  3. Marama Davidson

  4. Julie Anne Genter

  5. Eugenie Sage

  6. Gareth Hughes

  7. Jan Logie

  8. Kennedy Graham

  9. Chloe Swarbrick

  10. Golriz Ghahraman

  11. Mojo Mathers

  12. Barry Coates

  13. Jack McDonald

  14. John Hart

  15. Denise Roche

  16. David Clendon

  17. Hayley Holt

  18. Teall Crossen

  19. Teanau Tuiono

  20. Leilani Tamu